Endangered complexity: Inflectional classes in Oto-Manguean languages

Workshop on Inflectional Morphology and Verb Classes in the Oto-Manguean Languages of Mexico

The Surrey Morphology Group hosted a one-day dissemination workshop entitled 'Inflectional Morphology and Verb Classes in the Oto-Manguean Languages of Mexico' at the University of Surrey, Guildford, UK, on Friday 14 March 2014.

This workshop was part of the ESRC/AHRC co-funded research project 'Endangered complexity: Inflectional classes in Oto-Manguean languages'.


Languages of the Oto-Manguean phylum display some of the most complex inflection class systems ever described. The sheer number of classes, their unpredictability, and the layering of cross-classifying systems of affixation, tone and stem alternations present both a descriptive and theoretical challenge. This workshop featured some of the leading figures in the field and provided a space for exposition and discussion about some of these major challenges.


14 March 2014    

09:30 - 10:00 Coffee & welcome
10:00 - 10:45 Matthew Baerman (University of Surrey), 'Oto-Manguean inflection classes in the light of morphological typology'
10:45 - 11:30 Anthony Woodbury (University of Texas at Austin), 'Inflectional morphology in the Chatino languages: the separate life cycles of tonal vs. affixal conjugational classes'
11:30 - 12:15 Rosemary Beam (UNAM, Mexico City), 'Verb classes in Southern Zapotec'
12:15 - 13:30 Lunch
13:30 - 14:15 Yuni Kim (University of Manchester), 'Morphological and phonological subregularities in Amuzgo (San Pedro Amuzgos) inflectional class assignment'
14:15 - 15:00 Jean-Léo Léonard (LPP & Université Paris 3), 'Modelling Simplexity versus Complexity in Mazatec inflectional classes: a diasystemic approach'
15:00 - 15:30 Coffee
15:30 - 16:15 Søren Wichmann (MPI-EVA),'Inflectional verb classes in Azoyú Tlapanec'
16:15 - 17:00 Timothy Feist and Enrique L. Palancar (University of Surrey and CNRS), 'Constructing a database of Oto-Manguean inflectional classes'

Project members

Prof Greville G. Corbett
Dr Matthew Baerman
Prof Dunstan Brown (University of York)
Dr Enrique Palancar
Dr Timothy Feist

Period of award:

March 2012 - February 2015


Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)